top of page

Candles

Do you want to gift a unique baptismal candle to your child or godchild? These hand-painted candles following a model of your choice or a design created by me are true works of art, which remain precious objects which can decorate a prayer corner and accompany the child throughout his or her life.

 

Below are some examples of candles I already made. Most of the time I paint the patron saint of the child which is to be baptised, but it is entirely possible to consider another motif, such as the Virgin Mary or the Archangel Michael!

As this is artisanal work, which requires a certain amount of work, the result of which is an object that is unique in the world, the costs of a candle are around €150. This price may vary depending on the style chosen and the size of the candle desired. If you wish, the first name of the baptised person and the date of baptism can be added at no additional cost.

Pauline 2024

Blessed Pauline Jaricot

Blessed Pauline Jaricot lived and worked all her life in Lyon and that is, among other things, the reason she was chosen as the patron saint of little Pauline, who lives very close to this city!

The parents were looking for a lightweight design that wasn't too overwhelming.

Rita Maria 2023

Saint Rita

Since her youth, Rita wanted to become a nun, but her parents married her to a young man with whom she had twins. After the death of her husband, who was murdered, she worked for the reconciliation of her family with that of the assassin, and then entered an Augustinian monastery.

Baptismal candle representing Saint Sophie and her three daughters

Saint Sophie

Saint Sophie and her three daughters were martyred in the 2nd century, after the girls refused to be adopted by Emperor Hadrian, who was struck by their beauty and virtues. To punish them, he had the daughters killed in front of their mother's eyes.

Baptismal candle representing Saint Pierre-Julien Eymard in stained glass style

Saint Pierre-Julien Eymard

Saint Pierre-Julien Eymard founded the order of the Fathers of the Most Holy Sacrament and worked extensively for the propagation of the adoration of the Most Holy Sacrament. Here the illustration is inspired by a sculpture of the saint found in the chapel of the Church of the Fathers of the Most Holy Sacrament in Brussels.

Jean-Eudes 2024

Saint Jean-Eudes

Saint John Eudes was concerned about the training of priests at a time when this was very neglected and insufficient. He founded several orders and a society of priests dedicated both to the training of seminarians and clergy and of popular preachers in parishes.

Diana 2024

Virgin of Silence

This representation of the Virgin of Silence by Kiko Arguëllo is a popular choice for the candles that are ordered from me.

The original being a stained glass window, it is not easy to adapt this image into a painting and I am always trying new ways.

Ombeline 2021

Blessed Ombeline

Ombeline was the sister of Saint Bernard. She was married and was very fond of worldliness, wealth and finery. It was when her brother refused to receive her during a visit that she converted. With the agreement of her husband, she went to live as a nun in Burgundy until her death.

David José 2019

Christ Pantocrator

Here is a baptismal candle that was decorated with a reproduction of the icon of Christ Pantocrator by Kiko Arguëllo. Christ holds a Bible on which the words "Love your enemies. I am coming." are inscribed.

The cross was designed to match the feel of the icon.

Josef 2024

Saint Joseph

This very simple candle represents Saint Joseph, protector of the Holy Family. Of course there is therefore Jesus in his arms, but Mary is also present, symbolised by the lily, which is found in the hands of her holy husband, but also around the cross of her son.

Baptismal candle representing Saint Charles de Foucauld

Saint Charles de Foucauld

Saint Charles de Foucauld was a priest who worked with and for local people in Syria, Palestine and Algeria before being assassinated at the door of his hermitage. He was canonised in 2022.

Thomas 2020

Saint Thomas More

Saint Thomas More was an English statesman, who was executed after refusing to take an oath to the English crown, and to recognise its authority as superior to that of the church.

He also wrote several humanist treatises.

Ask for a quote

Don't hesitate to contact me to discuss your needs so that I can give you a tailor-made quote!

Please allow for a delay of approximately four to six weeks between the first contact and the sending of the candle.

Thank you for your message

bottom of page

top of page

Cierges

Voulez-vous offrir un cierge de baptême unique à votre enfant ou à votre filleul? Ces cierges peint à la main suivant un modèle de votre choix ou un design crée par moi sont de véritables oeuvres d'art, qui restent des objets précieux qui peuvent décorer un coin prière et accompagner l'enfant tout au long de sa vie.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques exemples de cierges que j'ai déjà faits. Souvent je peins le saint patron de l'enfant à baptiser, mais il est tout-à-fait possible d'envisager un autre motif, comme par exemple la Vierge Marie ou l'Archange Michel !

Comme il s'agit ici d'un travail artisanal, qui demande un certain temps de travail et que le résultat est un objet unique au monde, il faut compter environ 150€ pour un cierge. Ce prix peut varier en fonction du style choisi et de la taille du cierge souhaité. Si vous le désirez, le prénom du baptisé et la date du baptême peuvent être ajoutés sans frais supplémentaires.

Pauline-2024.jpg

Bienheureuse Pauline Jaricot

La bienheureuse Pauline Jaricot a vécu et oeuvré toute sa vie à Lyon et c'est entre autres pour ça qu'elle a été choisie comme patronne de la petite Pauline, qui habite justement tout près de là!

Les parents cherchaient un design léger et pas trop surchargé.

Rita 2024

Sainte Rita

Depuis sa jeunesse, Rita voulait devenir religieuse, mais ses parents la marièrent à un jeune homme avec qui elle eut des jumeaux. Après la mort de son mari, qui fût assassiné, elle oeuvra pour la réconciliation de sa famille avec celle de l'assassin, puis entra dans un monastère augustin.

Cierge de baptême représentant la sainte Sophie et ses trois filles

Sainte Sophie

Sainte Sophie et ses trois filles ont été martyrisées au 2ème siècle, après que ces dernières aient refusé de se faire adopter par l'empereur Hadrien, qui était frappé par leur beauté et leurs vertus. Pour les punir, il fit tuer les filles devant les yeux de leur mère.

Cierge de baptême représentant le saint Pierre-Julien Eymard en style vitrail

Saint Pierre-Julien Eymard

Saint Pierre-Julien Eymard a fondé l'ordre des Pères du Très Saint Sacrement et beaucoup oeuvré pour la propagation de l'adoration du Très Saint Sacrement. Ici le motif est inspiré d'une sculpture du saint qui se trouvé dans la chapelle de l'église des Pères du Très Saint Sacrement à Bruxelles.

Jean-Eudes-2024.jpg

Saint Jean-Eudes

Saint Jean-Eudes s'est soucié de la formation des prêtres à un moment où celle-ci était très négligée et insuffisante.  Il fonde plusieurs ordres et une société de prêtres voués tant à la formation des séminaristes et du clergé qu'aux prédications populaires dans les paroisses.

Diana-2024.jpg

Vierge du Silence

Cette représentation de la Vierge du Silence par Kiko Arguëllo est un motif populaire dans les cierges qu'on me commande.

L'original étant un vitrail, il n'est pas toujours évident de transposer l'image en peinture et je cherche toujours de nouvelles manières de faire.

Ombeline-2021.jpg

Bienheureuse Ombeline

Ombeline était la soeur de saint Bernard. Elle était mariée et aimait beaucoup les mondanités, les richesses et les beaux apparat. C'est lorsque son frère refuse de la recevoir lors d'une visite, qu'elle se converti. Avec l'accord de son mari est vivra jusqu'à sa mort comme moniale en Bourgogne. 

David-2019.jpg

Christ Pantocrator

Voici un cierge de baptême décoré par une reproduction de l'icône du Christ Pantocrator faite par Kiko Arguëllo. Le Christ tient une bible sur laquelle sont inscrit les mots "Aimez vos ennemis. Je viens".

La croix a été conçue pour s'accorder avec les design de l'icône.

Josef-2024.jpg

Saint Joseph

Ce cierge très simple représente saint Joseph, protecteur de la Sainte Famille. Il y a donc évidemment Jesus dans ses bras, mais Marie est aussi présente, symbolisée par la fleur de lis, qui se retrouve entre les mains de son saint époux, mais aussi autour de la croix de son fils.

Cierge de baptême représentant le saint Charles de Foucauld

Saint Charles de Foucauld

Saint Charles de Foucauld était un prêtre qui travaillait en Syrie, en Palestine et en Algérie avant d'être assassiné à la porte de son ermitage. Il a été canonisé en 2022.

Thomas-2020.jpg

Saint Thomas More

Saint Thomas More était un homme d'État anglais, qui fût exécuté après avoir refusé de prêter serment à la couronne anglaise, et de reconnaître son autorité comme supérieur à celle de l'église.

Il a également écrit plusieurs traités humanistes.

Demander un devis

N'hésitez pas à me contacter pour discuter de vos besoins afin que je puisse vous faire un devis sur mesure!

Prévoyez un délai d'environ quatre à six semaines entre la première prise de contact et l'envoi du cierge.

Merci pour votre message

bottom of page